About TBSHS : The Governors

Updated: Thu 23 Apr 2020   Share: Share on facebookShare on TwitterShare on MySpaceShare by Email


The Governors of the Bishop's Stortford High School are responsible for setting and maintaining the ethos and strategic direction of the School. In so doing they act as critical friends of the School in order the better to enable the School to provide each pupil with the opportunity to fulfil his or her potential within a caring Christian environment.

Governors are appointed from various sections of the wider Community in order to ensure a balanced and objective view of the School and its aims and to secure the attainment of these aims. The Governors fulfil their function through a formalised committee structure with the working committees, in turn, reporting to the full Governing Body.

The School is mindful of and grateful for the role played by the Governors and the Governors, in turn, appreciate the enthusiastic support which they received from the School Community. It is indeed the enthusiasm of the staff (teaching and non-teaching) which symbolises the drive and determination of TBSHS and distinguishes it from other educational establishments. It is this enthusiasm which enables the School to provide a truly all-round education within the National Curriculum and, uniquely, the outstanding array of extra curricular activities.

The present Governors of the School would also acknowledge the enormous contribution to the life of the School made by previous Governors and especially by past Chairmen, Rodney Stock, Dame Betty Paterson, Stanley Price, Jim Tee, Joanna McKee, Rosemary Jones and Dan McCarthy.

Do please make full use of this website and, indeed, the Governing Body in order the better to understand the factors which set this School apart. Please feel free to approach any of the Governors if there are any topics which would you like to discuss with them or upon which you would welcome further information from them. In the meantime, thank you for directing your time and interest to TBSHS.

Alan Fordham
Chairman of Governors
NB : Please scroll to the bottom of this page to view various Governing Body documents.
To Contact our Governors


Please email office@tbshs.org and write - 'Please forward to (name)' in the title.