Winner of the Music Festival 2018

Kaiya Kiyosawa is the 39th TBSHS Musician of the Year

Date published: Thu 15 Mar 2018   Author:    Category: Publicity   Share: Share on facebookShare on TwitterShare on MySpaceShare by Email

Yesterday (14th March) saw the conclusion of the 39th Annual TBSHS Music Festival with a classical guitarist - Kaiya Kiyosawa from Year 12, winning the coveted title.

Following an action-packed and tense final, adjudicator Gabriele Baldocci had the very difficult task of selecting a winner.

Gabriele opened the evening by performing an original composition, written by a friend of his, before taking his seat to adjudicate the seven advanced finalists, performing on eight instruments.  It was a tremendous evening of exceptional talent, reminding us all how fortunate we are to have such gifted musicians at TBSHS.

Kaiya came to TBSHS, in year 9 and passed his Grade 8 acoustic guitar with a distinction. He is currently learning with our guitar peripatetic teacher, Stephen Warner. In year 11, he received a distinction in Grade 8 classical guitar, and earlier this term achieved a merit in his ARSM Diploma.

The seven competitors in the exciting Finalé contest were - Finn Lihoreau (Y9) - Woodwind, Joe Lee (Y7) - Strings, Joel Williams (Y13) - Brass, Owen Lee (Y9) - Piano, Kaiya Kiyosawa (Y12) - Classical Guitar, Ben Mayhew (Y11) - Percussion, Jay Patel (Y11) - Contemporary Guitar, Finn Lihoreau (Y9) - Voice

Advanced Finalists 2018


The results of the Beginners competition recognised Finlay Giffen (violin) as the overall winner of the Beginners Shield.   Jonathan Stevens (alto saxophone) and Charles Baile (piano) both received Highly Commended awards, and Alex Banhidai (classical guitar) received the Commended award.

Beginner Finalists

In the Intermediate competition, David Badcock (flute) received the Joyce Shellard Memorial Trophy, with Charlie Haddon (piano) being awarded the Highly Commended award and Matthew Seeley (electric guitar) and Thomas Farrow Tomson (drums) receiving joint Commended awards.

Intermediate Finalists


Before we came to the advanced finalists, we celebrated seven remarkable students from years 7-9, who were already Grade 6 or above on their instruments and therefore were privileged to enter the advanced categories, performing against much older students.  Thomas Millar (year 8), Themiya Panditha (year 9), Jonny Brewer (year 8), Michael Chung (year 7), Joe Lee (year 7), Owen Lee (year 9) and Finn Lihoreau (year 9) all took part in advanced competitions, with Joe, Owen and Finn winning their heats to progress to the Finalé.  All seven students took to the stage to receive their Young Musicians medals.

Young Musician Medalists